A new round of sunshine

Yesterday, Kevin Marrable and I climbed onto the roof of the James Hehir building in blisteringly bright sunny conditions. We moaned somewhat as it was just too bright and contrasty so we sat down and woofed our packed lunches waiting for the light to fade. Luckily given the pasting that the rest of the country was getting, wispy damp cloudy stuff lightened our spirits and we were off.

I had taken my Toyo 45A up for the first time and fired off 6 sheets of FP4 whilst waiting for the light to dampen down a tad. I’m looking forward to getting them in the tank and developed.

From all the visits we have had to this lofty vantage point, this was by far the best. It is I suppose a bit like growing up. I went up there with two cameras, one 5×4 field camera with B&W and a digital SLR with a prime short telephoto with the prime(sic) objective of making some waterfront panoramic images.

Tests on camera looked good. They always do don’t they? I was less than pleased with myself once I got to processing as I was a degree off vertical despite levelled heads and tripod with countless bubbles. I’ll have to sort this anomaly for next time.

Anyway here is one daylight shot with that warm late winter afternoon glow. I love making work in the winter.

Dock and townscape with yachts

The Wet Dock and Town December 22nd 2016

Leave a Reply

