Wet Dock Access Update

Original post November 26, 2014 By: Tom Owens

Today I met with the Deputy Port Manager for ABP Ports in The Custom House on the dock. He had previously indicated that my request for access to gated areas would not be approved but offered to meet me anyway. I took up the offer and we talked about how we were individual artists bringing our own interpretation, views and timings to the table with our images. He sympathised with us and expressed interest in the fact that they would have ultimately benefited from some of our products.

It turns out that he has just received a decent SLR as a long service award so I invited him to join the group. We can talk about this next Wednesday.

In the meantime here is an image that took an hour and a half to set up yesterday as part of a number of varied exposures made just after sunrise. I had explained to the manager that it was precisely this example of using different tools and methods that would preclude us wandering around as a group which is something I would shy away from anyway. I’ve just taken delivery of mounting fluid so I will try wet scanning the 5×4 negs I got back today and see if it half approaches a drum scan.

I’m sure we can find safe legal vantage points to gather our images. It will just take a bit of imagination.

boat_3

For the technically curious this image was made using a Toyo 45C monorail camera with a 90mm wide angle lens on Kodak Portra 160.  1/2 second at F27. Scanned on an Epson V750 and processed in Lightroom 5.7. The camera was about seven feet off the ground. This aspect of the shed faces due West thus it was sheltered from any golden light.

This is in an area that we can freely photograph in.

The more I look at the content of this image, the more layers of intrigue are highlighted. At some point I shall record the goings on on the other side of the shed (nowhere near as interesting).

I got to thinking the other day after the FP post on dark room dodging and burning that this on the the face of it might be a nostalgic image but I think it is contemporary. My Liverpool Echo series made in 1972 was most definitely contemporary at the time as it was as Stew prefers, documentary in style. However, viewing that series in the present day draws OOOhhs and Ahhhs and I think a degree of nostalgia creeps in. Here is the link to a heritage site that has some of the images I allude to http://streetsofliverpool.co.uk/school-health-clinic-kensington-1972/ An interesting posit to discuss. I’m sure we will have many viewpoints.

See you next Wednesday

Comments from original blog

Derek Dewey-Leader LRPS · December 30, 2014 Reply

A lot of inspirational work there from Tom and Peter and particularly for me as I spent so many happy years with my boat on the Stour , the Orwell and the Walton backwaters. Much to explore there and it is not all decay…though that seems to be what attracts many photographers. Anything to do with advancing years?
And on the subject of bah humbug and Christmas, the puritans attempted to ban Christmas and I am afraid Richard the 11 rather overdid it with 28 oxen and 300 sheep being eaten at his Christmas; caroling was once condemned as lewd and carols were not sung in churches until around 1800, while drunkeness, promiscuity and gambling has long been part of Christmas “celebrations” particularly during the middle ages. So what is there to dislike about it? And of course nobody has yet banned the taking of photographs at Christmas though they are having a pretty good go at banning my Go Pro equipped quadcopter. Happy New Year all.

Leave a Reply

